Our very own Dawn Beresford has made the shortlist for the Curtis Brown First Novel Prize with her booked ‘Blessed Joan’

03 Oct 2019

We are thrilled to announce the shortlist for the Curtis Brown First Novel Prize. We were awed by the quality of the over 3,000 entries to the Prize – we found ourselves arguing passionately as we narrowed down the longlist to the final 7 (one more than we had originally agreed, as we just couldn’t leave a single one of these stories out!). This has been an exciting and energizing process and we are looking forward to watching brilliant careers develop for these talented writers.

Without further ado, the judging panel formed of Curtis Brown agents and the Curtis Brown Creative team are excited to reveal our 7 shortlisted titles:


Blessed Joan



The Three Sisters Below Strang Wood

The Wickedry of Mrs Wood


The winner, chosen by chair of our judging panel Tracy Chevalier – bestselling author of Girl with the Pearl Earring and A Single Thread, will be revealed on 10th October.

The Prize was open to un-agented novels both finished and unfinished, across all genres of adult fiction. The author of the winning novel will be offered representation by Curtis Brown plus a prize of £3,000, while the first runner-up will receive a place on a three-month novel-writing course at Curtis Brown Creative, and a mentoring session with one of the Curtis Brown 120 agents. The remaining shortlisted entrants will be offered a place on a six-week online course with Curtis Brown Creative and a mentoring session with one of the Curtis Brown 120 agents.

Press & News

We are proud to be awarded with...

Bafta Winner
Bafta Winner
Bafta Winner
Bafta Winner