CPL Productions picks up awards at Edinburgh 2018

23 Aug 2018

The winners of the 2018 edition of the Edinburgh TV Awards were unveiled today at the Edinburgh International Television Festival.

The awards, now in its 17th year, honor the breadth of genres and creativity that broadcasters and prodcos produce throughout the year, across both unscripted and scripted genres. Comedian and television presenter Frank Skinner hosted this year’s awards show.

The CPL Productions-made Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds (pictured) for Channel 4 took home the popular factual program of the year honor. The series follows 10 four-year-olds as they share their classroom with 10 pensioners over a six-week period to attempt to scientifically prove that the two generations can transform the other’s wellbeing for the better.

The London-based CPL Productions, a division of Red Arrow Studios, was also feted with the award for production company of the year.

Picking up the best entertainment series of the year was Studio Lambert’s Gogglebox. Produced for Channel 4, the series sees Britain’s most opinionated and avid TV watchers commenting freely on what their television has to offer.

BBC’s blue chip natural history docuseries Blue Planet II (BBC Studios NHU, BBC Worldwide) walked off with the title of best documentary program. The series spent nearly 1,000 hours filming in all of the earth’s oceans and utilizes new filming technologies to capture previously unseen wild behaviours and previously undiscovered oceanic species.

Elsewhere, British commercial television network Channel 5 was named as the channel of the year, while freelance assistant producer Sophie Perrins was awarded the Channel 4/Random Acts Live Pitch Award, previously named the “Ones to Watch Live Pitch Award.”

“It is testament to the immense talent our industry offers that we have been able to increase the number of categories in our awards,” said Lisa Campbell, festival director, in a statement. “Huge congratulations to all our winners, from our breakthrough talent to a lifetime achievement, it truly is a celebration of the range of talent and programs our industry produces.”

See the full list of unscripted winners below:

Channel of the Year Award:
Channel 5 WINNER

Specialist Channel of the Year:
Sky Arts
CNN International

Production Company of the Year:
Big Talk Productions
CPL Productions WINNER
ITN Productions
Studio Lambert
World Productions

Best Entertainment Series:
Celebs Go Dating, Lime Pictures
Love Island, ITV Studios Ltd, Motion Content Group
The Graham Norton Show, So Television
Taskmaster Series 5, Avalon Productions
Gogglebox, Studio Lambert WINNER
Harry Hill’s Alien Fun Capsule, NIT Television

Best Popular Factual Series:
Coastal Railway Journey’s with Julie Walters, Alaska TV
No More Boys and Girls, Outline Productions
Old People’s Home for 4 Year Olds, CPL Productions WINNER
The Real Full Monty: Ladies Night, Spun Gold
Cruising with Jane McDonald, Elephant House Productions
Portrait Artist of the Year, Storyvault Films

Best Documentary Program:
Blue Planet II, BBC Studios NHU, BBC Worldwide WINNER
Louis Theroux: Dark States, Heroin Town, BBC Studios: The Documentary Unit
Raped: My Story, Lambent Productions
Grenfell Tower: Minute by Minute, ITN Productions
Forbidden Games: The Justin Fashanu Story, Fulwell 73, Gospel Films
James Bulger: A Mother’s Story, Optomen

Best Breakthrough Talent:
Daisy and Charlie Cooper
Jack Rowan
Rodney P
Daniel Lawrence Taylor
Rachel Parris WINNER
Letitia Wright

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Michael Palin

Channel 4 / Random Acts Live Pitch Award:
Sophie Perrins

TV Moment of the Year:
Danny Dyer’s unique take on Brexit on Good Evening Britain, ITV

TV Moment of the Year — As voted for by delegates exclusively via the Festival app:
Danny Dyer’s unique take on Brexit on Good Evening Britain, ITV


Press & News

We are proud to be awarded with...

Bafta Winner
Bafta Winner
Bafta Winner
Bafta Winner